
 
 
 
 
               
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
               

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

3rd Quarter 2014 

QUARTERLY NEWS 

Filing and Paying Timely Saves Money 

Filing Montana Unemployment Insurance (UI) quarterly reports and making 

payment by the due date can result in significant cost savings to your business.   

Avoid Late File Penalty of $25 

 A late filing penalty of $25 is assessed for reports filed after the due date.  If 

you file late but had no reportable wages, you still are assessed a $25 penalty 

for late filing.  

 Avoid Higher Rates in 2015 

 An employer’s rate is based, in part, on their record of contributions paid as of 

September 30.  If your account is past due, paying in full before October 1, 

2014 could result in a lower rate. 

 Also, employers who have not filed all quarterly reports or have a balance due 

when rates are calculated in early December will receive a penalty rate.  A 

penalty rate is 50% higher than the employer’s experience rate.  Resolving a 

balance due or delinquent report(s) now may result in substantial savings in 

2015.  You must resolve all money and report delinquencies to avoid a penalty 

rate.  If you have questions about your delinquencies, please call our office at 

406-444-3834. 

Receive Full FUTA Credit 

 Employers who do not pay their state UI contributions are assessed the full 

FUTA rate of 6.0%. The FUTA credit is 5.4% and only those employers that 

pay their state UI tax timely are allowed to take this credit.  Be sure to pay 

your state UI tax so you can receive the FUTA tax credit of 5.4%.   

 

  

Keep the handy chart below as a reminder for when your UI reports are due.  

 
When are my UI Quarterly Reports due?  
 

To avoid penalty and interest charges, your UI-5 quarterly wage report and payment must be postmarked or submitted 

on-line by the following dates:  

 

Quarter:         Report Covering: Postmarked By: 

1st Quarter 
January, February, 

 March 
April 30 

2nd Quarter 
April, May, 

 June 
July 31 

3rd Quarter 
July, August, 

 September 
October 31 

4th Quarter 
October, November, 

December 
January 31 

 

If the due date is on a weekend or holiday, the next business day becomes the date the quarterly reports and payment 

must be postmarked or submitted. 

 

 

E-Filing through 

QuickBooks  
 

QuickBooks now offers e-filing 

payments and reports for 

Montana UI through their 

enhanced payroll product.  

 

If you are using this software, 

please note that the report will 

be sent and filed right away. 

The payment will be 

automatically pre-dated to the 

employer deadline for the 

quarter (example: 3rd quarter is 

dated October 31). You may not 

see the payment posted on your 

bank account for a day or two 

after the month end.  

 

PLEASE do not submit the 

payment again before 

examining your bank account 

activities after the end of the 

month. If you have questions, 

please call 406-444-1874 or 

406-444-6963. 



 
 
 
 
               
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2014 Assistance for Business Clinic 

Schedule for the Remainder of the Year 
 

There is still time to attend 2014 Assistance for Business Clinics 

in September and October.  If you are interested in attending, 

please call a sponsor (Chamber of Commerce or Job Service) in 

these cities for location & fees. 

 

Lewistown  .......Sept. 24 ....... Job Service (JSEC) 

Butte  ................Oct. 2 ........... Chamber of Commerce 

Hamilton ...........Oct. 8 ........... Chamber of Commerce 

  

The Assistance for Business Clinics are designed to assist 

employers, accountants, bookkeepers, human resource 

professionals and lawyers to proactively prevent unnecessary 

claims and/or charges by providing information and 

requirements on state withholding, unemployment insurance, 

workers’ comp., safety, tax incentives, health insurance, 

minimum wage, overtime, and/or civil rights laws. 

 

For more information visit: 

 http://dli.mt.gov/resources/abc-schedule.  

 

For  
PO Box 6339  Helena, MT  59604-6339  Fax (406) 444-0629  Telephone (406) 444-3834  TDD (406) 444-0532 

Are Pre-Taxed Wages 

Reportable to UI? 

Yes.  Any contributions or premiums paid out of 

an employee’s gross wages are considered 

wages for purposes of Unemployment Insurance 

tax and should be reported to UI.  Examples 

include pre-taxed health insurance (including 

any cafeteria plan deductions under IRC Section 

125), and employee contributions, salary 

reductions or deferrals to a 401(k) or other type 

of pension or retirement plans.  A good rule of 

thumb for Unemployment Insurance is to report 

Gross Wages. 

 

Do I Pay Tax on Total Wages I Pay My Employees?   

    - Alleviate the “guess work” with UI eServices for Employers 
 

“Experience Rated” employers must report all wages paid to their employees on their quarterly report.  However, each 

year, they pay UI tax on wages paid to each employee up to and including the UI taxable wage base.  The taxable wage 

base is listed in the upper right hand corner of the quarterly report form and typically changes from year to year.  The 

taxable wage base for 2014 is $29,000.  Any wages paid an employee over the taxable wage base are considered excess 

wages.  The example below illustrates taxable wages versus excess wages, using the 2014 wage base.  
 

 

 

 

 

Computing Excess Wages per Employee 

(based on 2014 UI wage base of  $29,000) 

   Quarter 

Total Wages 

Paid 

In Quarter 

Total Wages  

Paid To Date 

in CY 

Taxable 

Wages in 

Quarter 

Excess  

Wages in 

Quarter 

First $10,000 $10,000 $10,000 0 

Second 10,000 20,000 10,000 0 

Third 10,000 30,000  9,000 $1,000 

Fourth 10,000 40,000 0 $10,000 
 

Computing taxable wages can be confusing.  To make it simpler for employers, the department developed a web service 

that can do this calculation for you using UI eServices for Employers.  Not only will UI eServices calculate your 

individual employee’s taxable wages each quarter, it determines your total tax due.  You also have the option to make an 

ACH debit payment without having to pay a user fee.  To get started, go to uieservices.mt.gov.  If you have not 

registered yet, you will first need to establish an ePass account and a UI eServices account.  After your first time logging 

in, subsequent log-in is much simpler– just log in to ePass and answer a security question on UI eServices. 

 

If you are a “Governmental” employer or “Reimbursable” employer (only non-profit organizations exempt under 

Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(3) and governmental entities qualify), you compute and pay UI tax on employees’ 

TOTAL wages.  UI eServices for Employers can also be used by these types of employers to file reports and make 

payment.  

2015 Taxable Wage Base 

The taxable wage base for experience rated 

employers for calendar year 2015 will be 

$29,500.  The 2015 taxable wage base is 80% of 

the 2013 average annual wage in Montana.  

 

 

http://dli.mt.gov/resources/abc-schedule
https://uieservices.mt.gov/_/

