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2013 Taxable Wage Base

The taxable wage base for experience rated
employers for calendar year 2013 is $27,900 as
compared to $27,000 in 2012. The 2013
taxable wage base is 80% of the 2011 average
annual wage in Montana.

2013 Contribution Rate
Notices

UI contribution rate notices for experience
rated employers* were mailed the week of
December 10, 2012. If you did not receive
your 2013 rate notice, please contact our
office for a copy. Employers who disagree
with their rate assignment must request a rate
re-determination by January 11, 2013.

*Governmental entities rate notices are
mailed in May and are in effect from July 1"
through June 30™.

Confidential Information

The Montana Unemployment Insurance
Division is required to notify employers that
wage information and other confidential
unemployment insurance information may
be requested and utilized for other
governmental purposes, including, but not
limited to, verification of an individual’s
eligibility for other government programs.

We take our security responsibilities very
seriously, and protect the confidentiality of
both employer and claimant

information. We do not release information
without careful verification of the requesting
authority. Your name, address, Federal
employer identification number, Ul account
number, wage information, and social
security numbers of individuals are all
considered confidential.

Employer Update Form

Enclosed with this quarter’s Ul Wage Report and Newsletter is
an Employer Update Form. We’d greatly appreciate it if you
would complete all portions of this form that apply. We are
requesting this as information on some accounts is obsolete. We
also need to update accounts with current email addresses, cell
phone numbers and fax numbers to give us the future ability to
communicate electronically with employers who chose this
option. Additionally, you now have the option for benefit claims
correspondence to be sent to a different address from your Ul tax
forms, and if that is desired, designate it on this form (Part III).

Please return your completed Employer Update Form with your
quarterly report, or mail or fax it to the address or fax number
listed on the form. If you have questions, please call us at
406-444-3834.

Amending Quarterly Reports

If you made an error on a previously submitted report, you must

file an amended report. Please follow these simple steps to

correct the mistake:

¢ Copy the report to be amended

e Check the “amended report” box in Step 1

e Make corrections using red ink. (This helps identify what was
originally reported and what should be corrected.)

e Attach a note explaining why the corrections are needed.

e If the changes result in taxes due, please include payment.

¢ If you make an adjustment on line # 7 of your current quarterly

report, please attach the amended report to the current report.

Avoid paying late charges

A $25 late file penalty is assessed for past due Ul reports, and
interest accrues at 1 %2 % per month on past due payment. Please
note: The $25 penalty is assessed on all late filed reports,
including those where no tax is due.



Independent Contractor Requirements

Montana Unemployment Insurance (UI) law defines an independent
contractor as one who is working under a valid Independent
Contractor Exemption Certificate. If a business pays an individual
they believe is an independent contractor and the worker does not
have a valid Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate, the
business may be liable for Ul taxes on payments to the individual.
To be conclusively presumed to be an independent contractor, the
individual must have a valid Independent Contractor Exemption
Certificate for the occupation in which the work is being performed.
The Independent Contractor Central Unit of the Department of
Labor & Industry (DLI) reviews and approves applications for
independent contractor exemption certificates. The Independent
Contractor Central Unit may also suspend or revoke an IC
exemption certificate.

When you contract for any type of service with an individual,
confirm the individual has a valid independent contractor exemption
certificate by asking them for a copy. Independent contractors with
currently valid exemption certificates can also be found at:
www.mtcontractor.com.

What is a Claims Investigation Audit?

The UI Division performs random Claims Investigation audits to
determine if a worker, who was employed while receiving Ul
benefits, is accurately reporting his or her earnings and hours when
filing their weekly requests for payment. Additionally, we are
looking to see if a worker has returned to work but is still filing for
Ul benefits. At the beginning of every quarter, a cross match of
wages reported by employers during the previous quarter is run to
compare against the earnings reported by claimants during the same
quarter. If there is a discrepancy, an audit form is sent to the
employer(s) who reported wages for the worker.

On the audit form, employers are asked to list the hours worked and
gross earnings the worker received during each week. It is
important employers respond to these audit requests as it may
identify a problem. When an employer responds to an audit, we
work together to ensure unemployed workers receive the benefits
due them. Completing an audit form listing a worker’s hours and
earnings helps to ensure an employer account is only charged for
benefits a worker is eligible to receive.

If you have questions regarding a Claims Investigation Audit form,
please call (406) 444-1765 or (406) 444-2937 and speak to one of
our investigators.

QuickBooks Users

Experience Rated Accounts: If you
use tax accounting software (such as
QuickBooks) to prepare your Ul quarterly
reports, be sure to update both your
contribution and AFT rates as shown on
your 2013 rate notice to assure accuracy in
calculating your Ul payments in 2013.

Reimbursable and Governmental
Accounts: We have been informed
Quickbooks does not support proper
calculation of Montana’s Administrative
Fund Tax (AFT) as it does not calculate tax
due on total wages. If you use Quickbooks,
we recommend the following:

1. If all of your employees earn less than
$27,900 in a calendar year, you may
continue to use the payroll reports that
Quickbooks creates and taxes will be
calculated correctly.

2. If any of your employees earn more than
$27,900 in a calendar year, you should
either:

eManually calculate your Ul tax by
multiplying your total wages by your
AFT rate and use our UISG quarterly tax
report to file, attaching a copy of your
Quickbooks wage listing to the report.
Next, adjust the payroll liability to the
correct tax amount before writing your
check; or

eUpload your Quickbooks wage file to our
on-line filing service, WOW at
wow.mt.gov and pay on line, (or you may
write a check after adjusting your payroll
liability in Quickbooks to the correct tax
amount and mail it in); or

eSet up a custom payroll item in
Quickbooks which has no wage limit and
change the rates in the preset Ul tax and
AFT tax to 0%.

Please call Lesa Grindeland for step-by-step
instructions at 444-3835, or you may email
her at Igrindeland@mt.gov .
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