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Taxable Wage Base - Calculating Excess & Taxable Wages

Experience rated employers in Montana pay unemployment insurance taxes on wages up to and including
the taxable wage base. The taxable wage base is 80% of the prior year’s average annual wage (rounded to
the nearest $100). The taxable wage base is recomputed each calendar year.

For 2016, the taxable wage base is $30,500. Wages paid to an employee in excess of $30,500 in a calendar
year must still be reported as part of their total quarterly wages, but the excess amount is not taxed. Be sure
to subtract quarterly excess wages from total wages paid in the quarter when calculating quarterly taxable
wages. The example below illustrates taxable wages and excess wages, using the 2016 taxable wage base.

Computing Excess Wages - per employee
(based on 2016 Ul wage base of $30,500)
Quarter Total Wages Paid in | Total Wages Paid To | Quarterly Taxable Quarterly Excess

Quarter Date Wages Wages
First $10,000 $10,000 $10,000 $0.00
Second $10,000 $20,000 $10,000 $0.00
Third $10,000 $30,000 $10,000 $0.00
Fourth $10,000 $40,000 $500 $9,500

Note: Reimbursable and governmental employers do NOT have excess wages. They pay tax on total wages.

2017 Taxable Wage Base: The Taxable Wage Base for 2017 will be $31,400.

2017 Rate Notices

2017 rate notices were mailed to employers or

Amending Quarterly Reports

Do you need to amend a previously filed report?

their authorized agents the week of December 12.
The 2017 contribution rates were set using rate
schedule 1, the same as in 2016. Each employer’s
rate is calculated based on their own Ul history and
experience.

If you were assigned a penalty rate due to missing
quarterly reports and/or payment, please resolve
the penalty by sending in all missing reports and
payment in full by January 12, 2017. Doing so will
result in receiving your computed rate instead of the
penalty rate.

If you use payroll software to calculate your Ul taxes,
be sure to confirm your software is updated with the
2017 taxable wage base and your 2017 tax rate. If
you cannot locate your 2017 tax rate, you may obtain
the rate by using Ul eServices (uieservices.mt.gov)
or calling our office at (406) 444-3834.

Amending a report via paper is accepted, but you
can also easily amend a report on Ul eServices
(even if you originally filed it on paper). Once
logged on to uieservices.mt.gov, navigate to the
report you wish to amend by clicking “View Report”
next to the applicable quarter and then click
“Change”. Choose the reason for the amendment
from the drop-down menu and include a detailed
explanation of the change in the space provided.
Make the necessary changes to the information
on the report and click “Submit”. The amended
report will be processed in our office within 3 - 5
business days.
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Payment Reminders: Confidential Information
* Please make your check or money order payable The Montana Unemployment Insurance Division is
to the Unemployment Insurance Division. required to notify employers that wage information

« I your bank has changed in the past year or and other confidential unemployment insurance
information may be requested and utilized for other
governmental purposes, including, but not limited

to, verification of an individual’s eligibility for other

two, please be sure to check and update your
bank routing number if you pay electronically on
Quickbooks or Ul eServices. Payments rejected
due to an incorrect routing number may cause government programs.

your payment to be late and your bank may

charge a fee as well. You can change your bank We take our security responsibilities very seriously
account information on Ul eServices by clicking and protect the confidentiality of both employer

on My Bank Account. and claimant information. We do not release
information without careful verification of the

Comi ng in 2017 requesting authority. Your name, address, federal
e-Response to Ul Claims employer identification number, Ul account number,

In 2017, employers or their agents will have the wage information, and social security numbers of

ability to receive and respond to unemployment
claim separation requests electronically through the

individuals are all considered confidential.

Ul eServices employer portal. Be watching for more
information in 2017 about this exciting development.

Change in Montana’s Minimum Wage

Montana’s minimum wage is changing from $8.05 per hour to $8.15 per hour beginning January 1, 2017.
To get a copy of Montana’s current Wage & Hour poster or for additional information, go to http://erd.dli.mt.gov/labor-
standards/wage-and-hour-payment-act/state-minimum-wage, or call the Wage & Hour Unit at 406-444-5600.

New OSHA Record Keeping Rule

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has a new record keeping rule which may have an impact
on your business. The new rule, which takes effect January 1, 2017, requires certain employers to electronically
submit injury and iliness data. This data is already required to be recorded on onsite OSHA Injury and lliness forms.
This data enables OSHA to use its enforcement and compliance resources more efficiently.

Some of the data will also be posted to the OSHA website. Businesses that fail to comply with the new record keeping
rule could face thousands of dollars in fines.

You can learn more about the new record keeping requirements at https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping/finalrule/
index.html or by calling the Safety & Health Consultation Services of the Montana Department
of Labor & Industry at (406) 494-0324.
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