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Amending Quarterly Reports  
 

It’s a good time of year for annual payroll reconciliations!  If you 
find mistakes, there are three ways to amend your Montana 
quarterly unemployment insurance reports: 
 
#1 UI eServices for Employers (uieservices.mt.gov): Click the 
View/Amend link next to the quarter you wish to update. Once 
the report is open, click the Change button in the upper 
righthand corner to:  

• Add or remove employees  
• Update social security numbers  
• Correct wage amounts and/or excess  
• Add or update employee counts  

 
Please include a detailed explanation of the changes you are 
making in the space provided.  
 
To ensure your 4th quarter excess is calculated correctly, 
submit amended reports BEFORE filing the 4th quarter report. 
Begin with the oldest quarter first.  
 
#2 FSET/ICESA Formats: Payroll services can use FSET or 
ICESA file formats to amend reports. However, to ensure timely 
and accurate processing, an explanation of the changes is 
helpful.  Log into eServices and submit a secure web message 
letting us know the employer’s name and account number, 
name(s) of employee(s) whose wages and/or SSN you are 
correcting, and the reason for the amendment.   
 
#3 Amended Paper Report: Please write “AMENDED” at the top 
of the report and check the Amended Report box in Step 1. 
Attach an explanation which identifies the employees whose 
SSN’s or wages are changing and provide the reason for the 
change.  
 
Regardless of which method you choose, please submit any 
applicable tax due with the amended report. And, if you are 
removing wages which should have been reported to another 
state, please identify the state where the wages should have 
been reported.  
 
If you have questions or need help amending your quarterly 
report, please call (406) 444-3834, option 1. 
 
 
 

 

 
4TH QUARTER 2022 

2023 Contribution Rates 
UI Tax Rate Notices for 2023 will be mailed the week 
of December 19th, 2022.  

Contribution rates for 2023 were set using rate 
schedule one. You can look up your rate and/or print 
a copy of your notice on UI eServices for Employers 
(uieservices.mt.gov).  

If you received a penalty rate, the deadline to file any 
delinquent quarterly reports and pay the balances 
due is January 20th, 2023.  

If you are not already, we strongly encourage all third-
party payroll providers to participate in our Rate 
Exchange. Once signed up, you can electronically 
request the UI rates for all your clients. Note: 2023 
rates cannot be requested until January 1. 

Refer to our Fiscal Rate Exchange Handbook for 
more information or call (406) 444-3834, option 2.  

 
Taxable Wage Base 

The taxable wage base for 2023 is $40,500.00. The 
taxable wage base is 80% of Montana’s 2021 
average annual wage ($50,622.00), rounded to the 
nearest $100.   

If you use payroll software, be sure to update your 
2023 rate and taxable wage base to prevent errors 
when calculating tax due next year.  Do NOT update 
the wage base until after filing your fourth quarter 
report for 2022. 

 
Modernization Update 

Our UI systems modernization project is in full swing, 
and we are excited about the opportunities for 
improved services it will bring!   
 
We are working closely with our contactor, Fast 
Enterprises, to define requirements, oversee 
development, and test functionality as it becomes 
available.  Roll-out is planned for the first weekend in 
October 2023.  Stay tuned for more information and 
details as they become available.  
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https://uieservices.mt.gov/_/
https://uieservices.mt.gov/_/
https://uid.dli.mt.gov/_docs/eServices/fiscal-exchange-handbook.pdf
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Bonuses 
Remember to include any bonuses paid to 
employees on your UI quarterly wage report. All 
cash or non- cash payments given to employees for 
services performed are considered wages. For more 
information on reportable wages and employment, 
see Section 3 in our Employer Handbook which can 
be found online at uid.dli.mt.gov 

 

 
 
We are currently planning 2023 Assistance for 
Business Clinics sessions.  Watch future 
newsletters for more information or find updates at 
dli.mt.gov/resources/abc-clinics or contact Andy 
Shirtliff at andy.shirtliff@mt.gov or (406) 444-6171. 
 

 
Report Fraud 

If you suspect a person or business is committing UI 
fraud, go to uieservices.mt.gov and select Report UI 
Fraud under the Helpful Links. Or contact our fraud 
investigators by phone by calling (406) 444-0072 
or email dliuidci@mt.gov.  You can remain 
anonymous! 
 

 
 

Each one of us, at the Montana Department of Labor 
and Industry, wish you and yours the Happiest of 

Holidays. We look forward to working with you in the 
future. Here’s to a Happy New Year! 

 
 

 
 
More changes are coming for SIDES!  The NASWA SIDES Team 
is currently in the process of re-writing the Monetary and 
Potential Charges (MPC) and the Earnings Verification (EV) 
exchanges. 

The plan is to update both exchanges to align with changes 
made to the Separation Information (SI) exchange and improve 
the functionality of each exchange. The updates are currently in 
different phases of revision, no release date currently available. 

If you are not a SIDES E-Response participant, we encourage 
you to sign-up by logging into UI eServices for Employers 
(uieservices.gov). For more information on SIDES, view our 
SIDES FAQ or contact our Montana SIDES Coordinator, Jennifer 
Bertrand, at jbertrand@mt.gov or (406) 255-1138.  

 
Minimum Wage Update 

 
On January 1, 2023, Montana’s minimum wage will increase to 
$9.95 per hour (up from $9.20 per hour).  The new minimum 
wage will apply to all hours worked on or after January 1, 2023.  
 
A business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act whose 
gross annual sales are $110,000 or less may pay $4.00 per 
hour.  However, if an individual employee of such a business is 
producing or moving goods between states or is otherwise 
covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, that employee must be 
paid the greater of either the federal minimum wage $7.25 or 
Montana’s minimum wage.  
 
There are some exemptions but, most workers must be paid the 
minimum wage for all “hours worked” as required by state 
law.  “Hours worked” includes preparation time, opening and 
closing the business, company travel, and required meetings 
and training.  Any time spent by an employee in the performance 
of these duties must be recorded and paid. Employers may not 
use tips as credit toward wage rates, including minimum wage, 
to an employee.  
 
For information on minimum wage exemptions, call Montana 
DLI at 406-444-6543 or view this video created by the U.S. 
DOL https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa/videos  

 
Questions about Benefit Charges on your account? 

Call the Employer Charging Phone Line at 406-444-0399.  We are here to help!  Hours 8 am – 4 pm (closed for lunch 12 – 1). 
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